Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

​CONFIRMED PRESENTERS

The global pandemic has reshaped the world, with some doors nailed closed and others wide open. 
 

Entrepreneurship has been transformed. Idled and home-bound workers are bursting with ideas.

Investors are seeking the next big thing and learning how to back founders based on a few Zoom calls. IPOs, PACs and turbo-charged M&A deals are fueling a surge of exits. 


Which shifts will be permanent? Which will fade? How can we take the Lessons learned and use them as we go forward? 


Whether you're an investor or an entrepreneur, you won't want to miss this stimulating, informative and impactful conference. 

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

PROFESSOR

HOWARD STEVENSON

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

PROFESSOR

BILL SAHLMAN

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

AUTHOR & PROFESSOR

TOM EISENMANN

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

AUTHOR & PROFESSOR

MITHC WEISS

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

FOUNDER & CEO

JIM BRAYER

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

MIRIAM RIVERA

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

JASON GREEN

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

MELISSA WONG

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

CO-PRESIDENT

RADHIKA SHAH

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

LARA DRUYAN

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

FOUNDING MANAGING PARTNER

LO TONEY

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

CEO

ROHIT MITAL

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

CO-HOST

JEAN KOVACS

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

CO-HOST

JASON E. KLEIN

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

FOUNDER & CEO

LULU CURIEL

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

FREDERIK GROCE

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

RON WEISSMAN

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

FOUNDER & CEO

SCOTT SASLOW

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

FOUNDER & CEO

ROBERT FENTON

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

ANNE DEGHEEST

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

ANN MIURA-KO

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

BRIAN PATTERSON

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

MARIA SALAMANCA

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

ALICE VILMA

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

SPONSORS

Virtual Global Conference:

MAY 12 AND 13

12:00 PM-3:30pm ET

9:00 AM-1:30 PM PT

Additional information and registration:

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

HARVARD BUSINESS SCHOOL
ALUMNI ANGELS GLOBAL CONFERENCE

EMERGE STRONGER

LESSONS FROM THE PANDEMIC FOR INVESTORS AND ENTREPRENEURS

12:00 PM ET

9:00 AM PT

INTRODUCTION AND WELCOME:

Jean Kovacs and Jason Klein,

Co-Presidents HBS Alumni Angel Association

12:10 PM ET 9:10 AM PT

EMERGE STRONGER: LESSONS FROM
THE PANDEMIC FOR INVESTORS
AND ENTREPRENEURS

Bill Sahlman, Baker Foundation Professor of
Business Administration,
Harvard Business School
Howard Stevenson, Sarofim-Rock Baker Foundation
Professor Emeritus,
Harvard Business School
Jason E. Klein
(Moderator)

AGENDA  MAY 12, 2021

1:00 PM ET 10:00 AM PT

LESSONS FROM THE INVESTING FRONT LINE: BEFORE, DURING AND AFTER THE PANDEMIC

Jean Kovacs, Hillsven Capital (Moderator)
Jim Breyer, Founder and CEO, Breyer Capital
Jason Green, Founder and General Partner, Emergence Capital Ann Miura-Ko, Co-founder and Partner, Floodgate

1:45 PM ET 10:45 AM PT

WHY STARTUPS FAIL: A NEW ROADMAP FOR ENTREPRENEURIAL SUCCESS

Tom Eisenmann, Author, Howard H Stevenson Professor

of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Lindsay Hyde, Co-Founder and CEO, Baroo

2:30 PM ET 11:30 AM PT

ENTREPRENEURIAL. PANEL: MANAGING THROUGH THE PANDEMIC TO EMERGE STRONGER

Lara Druyan, Silicon Valley Data Capital (Moderator)

Robert Fenton, CEO, Qua lio
Rohit Mittal, CEO and Co-Founder, Stilt
Buno Pati, CEO, Infoworks.io
Melissa Wong, CEO, Retail Zipline

3:30 PM ET 12:30 PM PT

Day 1 Closing Remarks

Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co
Harvard Business School Alumni Angels Co

AGENDA  MAY 13, 2021

12:00 PM ET 9:00 AM PT

INTRODUCTION AND WELCOME

Jean Kovacs and Jason Klein,
Co-Presidents HBS Alumni Angel Association

12:05 PM ET
9:05 AM PT

HARNESSING PUBLIC ENTREPRENEURSHIP
TO SOLVE OUR MOST URGENT PROBLEMS

Mitch Weiss, Professor of Management Practice in
Entrepreneurial Management, Harvard Business School

1:00 PM ET 10:00 AM PT

ELIMINATING BIAS VIA DATA SCIENCE

TO DRIVE INVESTMENTS

Miriam Rivera, Co-founder and Managing Director,

Ulu Ventures (Moderator)

Radhika Shah, Co-President Stanford Angels & Entrepreneurs

Lo Toney, Founding Managing Partner, Plexo Capital

Natasha Overmeyer, Stanford Graduate

School of Business, PhD Student.

1:45 PM ET 10:45 AM PT

2020: OPPORTUNITY CREATION FOR
DIVERSE FOMILDERS AND FUNDERS

Lulu Curiel, Founder/CEO Ivy Advisory, President

Emeritus HBS Latino Alumni Board (Moderator)

Frederik Croce, Partner, Storm Ventures and BLCK.VC

Brian Patterson, Partner, Gunderson Dettmer
Maria Salamanca, Partner, Unshackled Ventures

Max Tuchman, CEO & Co-founder, Caribu
Alice Vilma, Managing Director, Morgan Stanley

2:45 PM ET 11:45 AM PT

ANGEL INVESTING - CURRENT TRENDS

AND FUTURE CHALLENGES

Cathy Benko, Former Vice Chairman and Managing
Principal, Deloitte LLP (Moderator)

Al and Enterprise: Ron Weissman, Chairman,
Software Industry Group, Band of Angels

Clean Energy: Larry Kelly, Band of Angels
Impact Investing for Angels: Scott Saslow,
CEO & Founder, One World Training & Investments

International/Cross-Borcar Investing:
David Chen,
Co-founder and Managing Director, AngelVest, Shanghai;

Alex Crisses, Managing Director, Global Head of New Investment

Sourcing &Co-Head of Emerging Growth
Steffen Saur, Co-President, HBS Alumni Angels, Germany

Life Science: Anne DeGheest, Founder and
Managing Director, HealthTech Capital

3:30 PM ET 12:30 PM PT

CLOSING REMARKS AND WRAP-UP